Happy Homemaker, Ph.D.

A novice homemaker's attempts to use her engineering Ph.D. to serve her family

Special Mornings with Special Treats

on December 14, 2011

Saturday mornings, I’ve been trying to bake a little for fun if time allows.  Usually these treats have been something I can enjoy over the next few mornings as well.  (See my previous posts for recipes for Cherry Squares and Caramel Rolls.)  I enjoy the baking itself, the creating and, most of all, the eating! 🙂

At my house right now, I’m really the only one who is very interested in something like scones at 6:30 in the morning, but as I sit down with a hot cup of tea or hot chocolate and open my Bible, I feel rather pampered with a delicious baked treat to nibble on as I read.  It’s me trying to bring a rich, coffee-shop experience into my own home. 

I savor my times in the mornings when the house is quiet.  I’ll get up at 5 a.m. to have that hour of solitude, if needed.  (Lately, it’s been more like 6 or 6:30 though.  And don’t be too impressed.  We generally retire for the night earlier than most people.) 

 Tomorrow, I’ll be back to my regular bowl of cereal, but this morning was sweet!

Cranberry Buttermilk Scones – a perfect morning treat!

Cranberry Buttermilk Scones

3 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar, divided

2-1/2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 cup cold butter or margarine

1 cup buttermilk (or substitute 1 tbsp. lemon juice and fill with milk to make 1 cup.  Let stand 5 minutes.)

1 cup dried or fresh cranberries

1 teaspoon grated orange peel

1 tablespoon milk

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

In a bowl, combine the flour, 1/3 cup sugar, baking power, salt and baking soda; cut in butter.  Stir in the buttermilk just until combined.  Fold in the cranberries and orange peel.  Turn onto a floured surface; divide dough in half.  Shape each portion into a ball and pat into a 6-in. circle.  Cut each circle into six wedges.  Place on a lightly greased baking sheet.  Brush with milk.  Combine the cinnamon and remaining sugar; sprinkle over scones.  Bake at 400° for 20 minutes or until golden brown.

Yield: 1 dozen

Enjoy!

~Dana

2 responses to “Special Mornings with Special Treats

  1. Laurel.hill says:

    YUMMY! Have you thought of adding white chocolate chips?

Leave a Reply

