Happy Homemaker, Ph.D.

A novice homemaker's attempts to use her engineering Ph.D. to serve her family

Kitchen Folly – Follow Up and Ginger Snap Recipe

on December 19, 2011

Well, if you didn’t read about my adventures with the ginger snaps Friday, read here first.

I admit, things looked pretty bad without the sugar mixed in with the shortening, but I did purchase the molasses on the way home, mixed together the remaining ingredients, and ended up with a normal-looking kind of dough!  🙂

These cookies ended up being delicious!  I did find, though, that I do NOT like the smell of molasses.  (Maybe it’s a pregnancy thing right now?)   And, that smell was nearly enough to make me plan to give the entire batch of cookies away.  The cookies are crisp on the outside and moist inside, my favorite!  Since they did turn out well, I’m sharing the recipe with it reworded a bit to help you all avoid the mistakes I made Friday.

Grand Champion Ginger Snaps, a recipe robust enough to handle my silly mistake!

Grand Champion Ginger Snaps

(from Favorite Recipes Old & New, Willing Workers 1906-1996, Ellsworth County, Kansas)

2 cups sugar

1 cup shortening

1 cup molasses

2 eggs

1 Tbsp. vinegar

1 Tbsp. vanilla

5 cups flour

1 tsp. salt

1-1/2 Tbsp. ginger

1/2 tsp. soda

4 tsp. baking powder

Cream shortening and sugar, then add vinegar, molasses, vanilla; mix.  Mix dry ingredients together and sift 2 or 3 times.  (If using hard winter wheat flour, 5 cups of flour is enough.  If not, adding an additional 1/2 cup may be needed.)  Add flour mixture to other ingredients.  Chill.  Roll into small balls about walnut size.  Place on greased cookie sheet.  Bake at 350° for about 10-12 minutes.  When baked, they will be nice round ginger snaps with the little cracks (or little rivers) just like the ready-made ginger snaps.  Secret:  Take cookies out a little raw, so they will crack.

I realized how silly my complaint about the “work instructions” sounded this morning as I pulled out my oldest cookbook, The Oakland Cook Book, published in 1902 by the Ladies Society of the Free Baptist Church in Oakland Centre, Wisconsin.  A dear friend, who has since passed away, gave this book to me.  It was her grandmother’s.

Now, I had to search a bit in my newer cookbooks to find a recipe for ginger snaps.  Not so in this book.  There are 13 recipes for ginger cookies, ginger snaps, ginger creams, ginger drop cakes, and ginger bread.  I haven’t tried them, but I wanted to share what a recipe from that time looked like.

Ginger Snaps

One cup of New Orleans sugar, one cup of New Orleans molasses, one cup of butter or lard, one tablespoonful of vinegar, one teaspoonful of soda in three tablespoonfuls of boiling water, one egg, one teaspoonful of ground cloves, one tablespoonful of ginger and salt.  Mix soft.   –Mrs. H. Wilder, Koshkonong, Wis.

I don’t have a chance with this one, do I?  🙂

~Dana 

One response to “Kitchen Folly – Follow Up and Ginger Snap Recipe

  1. […] how these turned out by reading my follow-up post.) GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]

Leave a Reply

