Happy Homemaker, Ph.D.

A novice homemaker's attempts to use her engineering Ph.D. to serve her family

Not Letting the “To Dos” Steal the Day

on December 29, 2011

I like to have a “to do” list.  It keeps me focused, and I feel accomplished as I can check something off.  In the morning, I try to write up the tasks I need to do for the day as I finish my breakfast and Bible reading (which are also put on the list so I can cross them off).  🙂 

Yesterday’s list wasn’t finished.  Not by a long shot, really.  But during nap time, I read my Aunt Peggy’s comment on Monday’s post and was encouraged to get out of the house.  Since it was a beautiful day outside, as my 18-month-old toddler woke from her nap, I decided we should enjoy it.   She’s an outside girl, more so than I am, and I knew she’d like some time outdoors.  We strolled to the park within walking distance of our home and spent time swinging together, going down the slide, and digging in the sand.   She laughed and ran.  She explored.  For an hour we played, walked, observed, and talked.  She pointed out the moon and the Christmas lights a few houses had lit on our walk home. 

Sometimes the things that matter the most aren’t on the “list.”

Sometimes I can be too focused.  I am all too often too intent on my cooking to take time to hold my daughter’s baby doll for her or too involved in my other tasks to help her put the pajamas back on her sock monkey.  With my new job at home, I can easily get caught up in trying to be “productive,” to having something to show for my efforts at the end of the day – all the while forgetting why I’m really here – to raise and teach our daughter. 

My doctoral advisor told me in reference to teaching, that there comes a point when you realize the interruptions (such as students coming by to ask questions) are really what you’re here for and shouldn’t be seen as a nuisance or deterrent from getting work done. 

The interruptions are the work.  Very important work.  Actually, very fun work, considering that I enjoy our snuggle and reading time just as much as my toddler.  (Maybe more?)  🙂  Work that I need to keep at the front of my mind – and maybe even put on my list so I don’t lose my focus on what really needs to get done today…

Loving on my daughter.

~Dana

Leave a Reply

