Happy Homemaker, Ph.D.

A novice homemaker's attempts to use her engineering Ph.D. to serve her family

The Infamous Glucose Test

on December 30, 2011

I don’t think I’ve heard anyone say they enjoy the 28-week glucose test during pregnancy.  So, I was quite surprised nearly 2 years ago when I took the test for my first baby, that I didn’t mind at all.  The drink didn’t seem that bad.

But then, most women probably didn’t grow up drinking as much Kool-Aid as I did.  My Grandma Fritz made Kool-Aid twice as concentrated as the directions call for, so drinking the Tropical Punch-flavored beverage at the OB’s office seemed like a breeze.  🙂

I fondly remember my Grandma.  So many things made her special to me, and I’m sure there were many special characteristics she had that I didn’t notice.  She spent a lot of time in the kitchen, and I remember her cooking…

Fried chicken with her own special way of cutting up the bird so that the “pulley bone” remained intact, cooked in her heavy, cast iron skillets.

Macaroni and cheese made with cream instead of milk.

Bite-sized, half-baked chocolate chip cookies that were kept in the freezer.

Her fruit cobbler.  (I’ll share the recipe one of these days.  It helped catch my husband’s attention when we started dating!)

Her fall-off-the-bone ribs and rich, cheesy potatoes…

So, today as I took my glucose test for this baby (and, honestly, I did have more trouble with the drink than I remembered last time), I remembered drinking that strong Kool-Aid out on the farm – and hoped I can grow to be the amazing cook that Grandma was (and my mom is). 

~Dana

I’m going to try to start sharing some memories on Fridays as “Flashback Fridays.”  Yes, there is a lot going on in my present life that warrants reflection, discussion, and sharing, but I also believe I have a unique testimony through the events that have happened over the last several years.  I’m excited to share with you how God worked in those times as well as what He’s doing now!   There are some great stories!  Stay tuned!

One response to “The Infamous Glucose Test

  1. Laurel.hill says:

    AAWWW…. Love those memories. Its funny how the little things a person does can stick with us forever.

Leave a Reply

