Happy Homemaker, Ph.D.

A novice homemaker's attempts to use her engineering Ph.D. to serve her family

Kitchen Creations for the Week

on February 25, 2012

I was rather impressed with myself one evening when I decided we’d have breakfast for supper, and I used what we had on hand to prepare a meal that turned out to be absolutely delicious!  I didn’t measure (except in one instance), so I can’t share an exact recipe, and I was so excited to eat the food that I neglected taking pictures.

If you’ve been following my blog or know me, you know I’m an engineer by training, so “creative cooking” is not something I typically do.  I’m good at following specifications (for the most part – I’ve been sharing my bloopers with you, but they’re not as common as it sounds.), and I’m definitely more comfortable following someone else’s tried-and-true methods.

But, I also worked as a development engineer/compounder, who worked to come up with new “recipes” for rubber products, and as a researcher who needed to develop something new for the world of applied statistics to graduate with my Ph.D., so maybe there is some potential…

I decided to make pancakes and something with eggs.   I’ve been supplementing our eggs supply with some eggs from the store since the girls are only producing enough for our breakfast each day right now.  We had enough eggs to cover supper.  I also had some spinach left over from a plan for salads last week.  I had purchased and thawed some Italian sausage with the dream of making pizza for dinner one night (It’s not hubby’s favorite, and he had gone out with friends for lunch to eat pizza already, so I knew I needed to come up with another idea.).  I had a can of mushrooms on hand for the pizza as well as some mozzarella cheese.

Here is what I came up with, based on something I liked at IHOP the week before and my handy ingredients:

Sausage, Spinach, and Mushroom Egg Bake

Yields: 4 servings

6 eggs
~1/3 c. milk
Seasonings to taste
~ 1/2 lb. sausage, browned
~ 1/2 cup fresh spinach
~ 1/2 can (4 oz.?) mushrooms (or 1/2 cup fresh mushrooms)
~1/2 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded
 
Grease an 8″ x 8″ baking dish.  Beat eggs with milk.  Add seasonings to taste.  (I used Adobo and garlic salt.  Adobo is something my Puerto Rican roommate in graduate school introduced me to.  Salt and pepper would also be fine.)  Pour about half of the egg mixture into the baking dish.  Layer the browned sausage next, followed by a layer of spinach.  Sprinkle the mushrooms and cheese over the mixture.  Finally, add the remainder of the egg mixture.  Bake at 350° for about 20-30 minutes or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.  (I didn’t think to keep track of the time.)
 

I thought this turned out to be amazing, but when coupled with the pancakes, it really made a fantastic meal!

I used the buttermilk pancakes recipe from the Better Homes & Gardens cookbook and added 1 c. of blueberries since I had some I wanted to use up.  With the remaining blueberries, I put them in a pan, added 3 Tablespoons of sugar and a heaping soup spoon of apricot preserves.  I cooked these, stirring occasionally, until I had the consistency I wanted for a type of blueberry compote.

Little Clara likes pancakes, and I was so proud to see her going after her last bites of spinach (even if she picked out the mushrooms).  My husband enjoyed the meal very much, and I was so delighted by the tastes that I was even happy to do the dishes afterward.  🙂

What creations have you developed for your family this month?  I’d love to hear about them!

~Dana

Leave a Reply

