Happy Homemaker, Ph.D.

A novice homemaker's attempts to use her engineering Ph.D. to serve her family

Doubling Our Pleasure

on April 27, 2012

We are now a family of four!  Praise be to God!

We brought little Melody home five weeks ago, and we are so blessed to have her in our family!   We had chosen not to “peek” at our baby’s gender (read why here), so it was a great surprise when my husband announced, “It’s a girl!” in the delivery room.  (I had been sure I was carrying a boy this time…  Yet another reason not to trust my intuition on such things.)  🙂

I stand increasingly amazed at God’s goodness and how it exceeds my wildest dreams.  I had been afraid that I would be let down by this birth story since my experience with my firstborn was so incredible.  (When you can deliver a 9 lb. 3 oz. baby with no pain medication and two hours later talk about doing it again, it must have been a good experience!)  God blessed us with a very different – but no less amazing – labor and delivery this time.  I labored at home for about 5 hours before we casually went to the hospital.  We were only in the labor and delivery room at the hospital for an hour before our baby was born!

To tell you how sweetly God cares for me (and you, too!!), consider this:  The most uncomfortable part of giving birth to my oldest was the required IV.  Ugh!  I cringe just thinking about it!  This time, I gave birth before the nurse had a chance to even get the needle out of the package! YES!  

Our God knows our needs, and He cares so much for us!  Having two children under two sounds like a challenge, but He’s provided a happy baby (without colic this time) who makes things not only manageable, but fun!  Clara is a good big sister and well-behaved — for the most part.  She’s still in training.  🙂  Each day with the two of them is a joy!  (Though sometimes I’m experiencing it through half-open eyes.)

Sure, I’m still getting the hang of having two little ones.  I don’t sleep through the night.  I don’t get to eat my food when it’s hot.  I get frustrated with my toddler’s messes and spills.  I’ve had trouble getting back into a groove of cleaning and cooking and other responsibilities.  Small sacrifices.

My dad told me, “It’s different with two.”  He made it sounds like a warning, but he’s right…

We have twice the blessings.  More coos.  More smiles.  More hours of snuggling.  The joy of having a girl on each knee.  The fun of seeing Clara want to comfort or entertain her sister.  The chance to nurse another precious babe.  The chance to welcome another precious life into our family.

Thank You, Lord!

3 responses to “Doubling Our Pleasure

  1. Kim says:

    Congratulations! I will enjoy reading about your adventures as you have time.

  2. Marla says:

    Congratulations! Having two little girls really is a wonderful blessing!

  3. congratulations! I had 3 in less than four years, with our first two only being 17 months apart. The first month-2 was a major adjustment period and then it felt like things just fell into place. And it will for you too! They’re 5 and almost 4 now. And they’re best friends, can’t live without each other. It’s wonderful. And I have a boy and a girl, I would imagine it will be even more so with your two sweet girls!

Leave a Reply

