Happy Homemaker, Ph.D.

A novice homemaker's attempts to use her engineering Ph.D. to serve her family

The Best Kind of Surprise

on May 22, 2013

There have been two main reasons I haven’t been consistent in blogging since Melody was born last spring.  One reason is I’ve been prayerfully seeking how to best spend the limited discretionary time I have, and I wasn’t convinced that blogging was the priority.  The other reason is the fatigue I’ve been feeling the last year.  First, I was busy seeing to my newborn’s needs.   The fatigue didn’t leave me when Melody started sleeping through the night, though, and those necessary early bedtimes continued.  I thought it was because I was using so many calories nursing, and it likely was.  (That, and keeping up with my 2-year-old and sweet infant.)

It was nearly Christmas last year when I became suspicious enough of the strange way I’d been feeling that I took a pregnancy test.  We soon learned that my frequent night-time trips to the bathroom, ongoing exhaustion, and strong need for mid-morning protein were impacted by the new baby growing inside me.

Hello, World! See you soon!  (Our third child at 20 weeks)

Hello, World! See you soon! (Our third child at 20 weeks)

A baby that will be, Lord-willing, joining us at home in mid-July!

(I was nearly 12 weeks along when we found out.  Let me tell you, the first trimester goes very quickly when you don’t find out until after 11 weeks have passed!)

I admit, I was a little freaked out at first.  Clara will be 3 in June.  Melody turned 1 in March.  There will be just under 16 months between Melody and this baby.  That’s a lot of little people to care for!  I was intimidated by the timing.  I was excited, but also scared.  We had hoped for more children, but didn’t think we’d be blessed again so soon.

I knew I just needed to trust God.  This baby was a gift from Him, and I knew that.  My faith was (and is) strong.  Sometimes, it just takes my mind a while to catch up.

The prayer dialog in my head goes something like this:

“Less than sixteen months apart, God?  Really?  Doesn’t Mom say she had twins ‘the hard way’ with my sister and me being just fifteen months apart?  How is this going to work?  I’m often worn out from caring for our two little ones now.  How am I going to do that–while nursing a newborn and being sleep-deprived?”

Okay, so it wasn’t much of a dialog, but after my venting of my worries, I remembered again and again God’s faithfulness to me.  He’s never called me to a task and left me all alone.  He always has my best interest in mind – even if I don’t see it until later.  He’s loved me so obviously and abundantly that I don’t doubt that His will is best.

With just eight weeks to go until we meet Baby (We don’t know if it’s a girl or a boy.  Similar to our other pregnancies, we wanted to be surprised.), I don’t know how this is going to work.  I don’t know who we’ll be able to find to watch our girls while we’re at the hospital.  I don’t know how the birth and recovery will go.  I don’t know how I’ll survive when my dear husband has to return to work, leaving me with three little ones in my charge.  I don’t know if this baby will have colic, like Clara, or be a profoundly happy baby like Melody.  I don’t even know how I’ll be able to even get everyone in and out of the car seats…

But God knows.  He has it all planned out, and I know He’ll take care of me.


12 responses to “The Best Kind of Surprise

  1. Susana A. says:

    Congrats Dana! You’re going to be great mom to three beautiful children (maybe it’ll be a boy this time)!

    • Dana K says:

      Thanks, Susana! I appreciate the encouragement! We feel blessed either way. 🙂 Look for an announcement in mid-July to find out who has joined us!

  2. Monica says:

    Please let me know if we can help with the girls while you welcome the baby!

  3. Christie says:

    Congrats! What a wonderful surprise!

  4. Kellie Symns Harvey says:

    Dana, I like reading your blog and identify with a lot of what you write about. My sister in law brought home her triplets when her oldest had just turned two. They are now 6 and 8. She has managed well but is extremely organized. You might look for info from mothers of multiples for help managing things!

  5. Reading this brought back memories of when I was in your shoes. My first child was 3 and my second was 15 mo. when I had my third. Your perspective and your trust in God are spot on. Although those days were difficult in some ways, God gave grace in the moment, and there were also many happy days of life with sweet and cute little munchkins. Blessings on your journey!

    • Dana K says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! Even in the times when I’m nervous about how this will work out, I’m so excited to meet this new little one and to see how we all get along with God’s help!

  6. indytony says:

    Congratulations. I really appreciate your faith perspective. I’ll be praying for you.

  7. Christabelle says:

    Congrats! I just wanted to encourage you. We are expecting our 7th in August…my oldest just turned 9. The hardest stretch for me was that first one, the oldest being three, the next a year and a half, and trying to work a newborn into the mix…but it was sooo worth it! God is faithful and will not leave you nor forsake you (although He DOES tend to stretch us some!). “Be anxious for nothing…” My love and prayers to you!

    • Dana K says:

      Thank you, Cristabelle! I’m sure this will be a stretching time, but, as you say, worth it and a good opportunity to lean on God’s strength and trust in His provision. Thanks for the encouragement, and congratulations on #7!

Leave a Reply

